clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Phoenix Suns win division, guaranteed no lower than 2nd seed in West

NBA: Los Angeles Clippers at Phoenix Suns Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

For the first time since 2007, and for only the 7th time in 53 years, your Phoenix Suns have won the Pacific Division title.

When the Los Angeles Clippers rested their stars on Friday night and lost to the Houston Rockets, the Suns were guaranteed to have to a better year-end record than the Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers, Golden State Warriors and Sacramento Kings.

Since the last time the Suns won the Pacific Division in 2007...

  • Lakers won it five times (two NBA Championships)
  • Clippers won it twice (with Chris Paul at the helm)
  • Golden State Warriors won it five times (three NBA Championships)

Now the Suns have taken the division, while all of the Lakers, Clippers and Warriors are still alive in the 8-team Western Conference playoff race.

The Suns are 49-21 with two games left in a 72-game season and cannot finish lower than 2nd in the West for the start of the playoffs in just one week.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bright Side of the Sun Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Phoenix Suns news from Bright Side of the Sun